Top players converge at ‘Big River’ rivalry game

Posted on Thursday, December 12, 2013 at 10:29 am

The first-ever Big River Rivalry all-star high school football game, pitting the top Central Region players north of the James versus the best from the south, will take place Saturday, Dec. 21, 1 p.m., at Day Field on the campus of Randolph-Macon College in Ashland.

Eight county student-athletes will represent Hanover County on the North squad when the team takes the field.

Linebacker Tye Burriss, who shined for Atlee as a punt returner and wide receiver, and center Nick Clarke, who is committed to Old Dominion University, will represent the Raiders. Hanover will have three players on the squad: defensive tackle Scott Denton, linebacker Brennan Gary, and safety Josh Harris.

Defensive end Donald Kidd, who also had a stellar season at running back, and tight end Austin Rice, who successfully ran the wildcat formation and played defensively, both will represent the Confederates of Lee-Davis, while offensive tackle Si Strong is rewarded for his excellent season as Patrick Henry’s representative in the Big River Rivalry.

Atlee head coach Roscoe Johnson is one of seven area head coaches on the staff that will lead the North into action a week from Saturday. The game is presented by the Touchdown Club of Richmond. Selectees will take part in a combine on Sunday, then practice nightly at Highland Springs High School the five days before the event.

Meanwhile, All-Conference football selections for Conference 11 (Atlee, Lee-Davis), Conference 16 (Patrick Henry), and Conference 20 (Hanover) have been announced. Below are county players who were honored by their individual conferences:

Conference 11 First Team

Alec Eberle, offensive and defensive line, Atlee; Loumond Dandridge, running back, Atlee; Daniel Glymph, wide receiver, Atlee; Austin Rice, offensive all-purpose, Lee-Davis; Donald Kidd, defensive line, Lee-Davis; Tanner Ramey, defensive end, Atlee; Tramell Carey, defensive back, Atlee; and Tye Burriss, linebacker, punt returner, and defensive all-purpose, Atlee.

Burriss shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with Trent Young of Douglas Freeman.

Conference 16 First Team

Eli Hanback, defensive and offensive lineman, Patrick Henry; Bender Vaught, linebacker and running back, Patrick Henry; Cole Potridge, center, Patrick Henry; and Connor McKee, kicker, Patrick Henry.

Second Team

Dreshawn Baskerville, linebacker, Patrick Henry;  Jake Morgan, linebacker and wide receiver, Patrick Henry; Josh Polezhaev, linebacker, Patrick Henry; Javontay Straus, punt returner, Patrick Henry; Tyler Phelps, quarterback, Patrick Henry; Si Strong, offensive lineman, Patrick Henry; Daquan Morris, running back, Patrick Henry; and Chesdin Harrington, wide receiver, Patrick Henry.

Conference 20 First Team

Terrance Brooks, defensive lineman, Hanover; Brennan Gary, linebacker, Hanover; Scott Denton, offensive line, Hanover; and Jalen Elliott, utility/all-purpose, Hanover.

Second Team

Joe Everette, center, Hanover; Mac Patrick, offensive lineman, Hanover; Josh Harris, wide receiver/kick returner, Hanover; Brooks Coombs, running back, Hanover; Clayton Cheatham, running back, Hanover; Kevin Sisson, defensive lineman, Hanover; Christian Unger, linebacker/punter, Hanover; Ryan Mallory, defensive back, Hanover; Bilal Benjamin, defensive back, Hanover; and Glenn Bowen, defensive back, Hanover.

Headlines of the Day